Six Blue Devils Invited to U.S. National Team Tryout

Six Blue Devils Invited to U.S. National Team Tryout


DURHAM – A small group of ex-Blue Devils has been invited to the opening phase of the process of trying out in the United States Men’s Lacrosse National Team to prepare for 2023’s World Lacrosse Men’s Championship.

Duke Head Coach John Danowski In his second year as the head in his second term as the head of the U.S. Men’s National Team working with his staff to pick the nation’s best men’s players to USA Lacrosse headquarters for the week of tryouts between 13-16 June.

It is the Blue Devils invited are JT Giles-Harris, Justin Guterding, Myles Jones, Brad Smith, Michael Sowers, and Cade Van Raaphorst. Six Blue Devils currently are on Premier Lacrosse League rosters. Smith And Sowers are both players with U19 National Team experience for the Men’s and won gold at this year’s U19 FIL World Championship. Guterding Smith along with Sowers will be competing at this year’s World Games Sixes for the United States this fall.

After the trial, the initial roster of training comprised of 46 athletes will then be selected to take part in team activities during the season.

In 2023, the World Lacrosse Men’s Championship will take place between June 21 and July 1st, 2023 in San Diego on the campuses of San Diego State University and the University of San Diego. More than 30 countries are expected to participate in the event as the U.S. looks to win for the record-setting 11th time since the tournament was first held in the year 1967. Canada remains the one country to win the quadrennial championship, having won in the years 1978, 2006, and 2014. The team has not been a repeat winner since the U.S. won six straight championships from 1982 to 2002.

Here’s the complete list of U.S. team players invited to participate in the first tryout

Name Pos College Pro Team(s)
Dominique Alexander M Ohio State ’13 Archers
Trevor Baptiste FO Denver ’18 Atlas/Philadelphia
Jesse Bernhardt D Maryland ’13 Chrome
Charlie Bertrand M Merrimack ’20/Virginia (Gr.) Redwoods
Will Bowen D North Carolina ’21/Georgetown (Gr.)
Liam Byrnes D Marquette ’16 Waterdogs/Panther City
Jack Concannon G Hofstra ’18 Atlas
Jared Conners LSM Virginia ’21 Archers
Ryan Conrad M Virginia ’19 Waterdogs
Bryan Costabile M Notre Dame ’20 Atlas
John Crawley M Johns Hopkins ’17 Atlas
Peter Dearth M Syracuse ’21 Atlas
Romar Dennis M Loyola ’17 Atlas
Matthew Dunn D Maryland ’16 Whip snakes
Michael Ehrhardt LSM Maryland ’14 Whip snakes
Garrett Epple D Notre Dame ’17 Redwoods
Ryder Garnsey A Notre Dame ’19 Redwoods
Adam Ghitelman G Virginia ’11 Archers
JT Giles-Harris D Duke ’21 Chrome
Eddy Glazener D Notre Dame ’16 Redwoods
Mark Glicini M Yale ’16 Chaos/San Diego
Eli Gobrecht D Ithaca ’16 Waterdogs/San Diego
Zach Goodrich M Towson ’19 Cannons
Justin Guterding A Duke ’18 Whip snakes
Sam Handley M Penn ’22
Colin Heacock M Maryland ’17 Chrome
Jules Heningburg M Rutgers ’18 Redwoods
Marcus Holman A North Carolina ’13 Archers
TD Ierlan FO Yale ’20/Denver (Gr.) Redwoods
Myles Jones M Duke ’16 Redwoods
Connor Kelly M Maryland ’18 Waterdogs
Jack Kelly G Brown ’16 Redwoods
Stephen Kelly FO North Carolina ’17 Cannons
Jack Kielty D Notre Dame ’21 Cannons
Connor Kirst M Villanova ’20/Rutgers (Gr.) Whip snakes/Georgia
Danny Logan M Denver ’21 Atlas
Brett Makar D Maryland ’22
Will Manny A Massachusetts ’13 Archers
Tim Muller D Maryland ’17 Whip snakes
Joseph Nardella FO Rutgers ’15 Whip snakes
Jack Near M Notre Dame ’15 Redwoods
Jarrod Neumann D Providence ’17 Chaos
Brendan Nichtern A Army ’22 Chrome
Asher Nolting A High Point ’22 Cannons
Mac O’Keefe A Penn State ’21 Chaos
Rob Pannell A Cornell ’13 Redwoods
Brian Phipps G Maryland ’10 Whip snakes
Matt Rambo A Maryland ’17 Whip snakes/Philadelphia
Ben Randall D Ohio State’ 18 Waterdogs
Patrick Resch M Dartmouth ’15 Chaos
Michael Rexrode D Rutgers ’18 Atlas
Troy Reh LSM Albany ’18 Chaos
Payton Rezanka M Loyola ’22
Jacob Richard M Marquette ’16 Atlas
Blaze Riorden G Albany ’16 Chaos/Philadelphia
Kevin Rogers M Lynchburg ’20/High Point (Gr.) Chrome
Jack Rowlett D North Carolina ’19 Chaos
Mikie Schlosser M Michigan ’17 Waterdogs
Tom Schreiber M Princeton ’14 Archers/Toronto
Connor Shellenberger A Virginia ’24
Michael Sisselberger FO Lehigh ’22
Brad Smith M Duke ’19 Whip snakes/Albany
Michael Sowers A Princeton ’20/Duke (Gr.) Waterdogs
Ryan Terefenko M Ohio State ’21 Chrome/Halifax
Tim Troutner G High Point ’19 Redwoods
Cade van Raaphorst D Duke ’19 Atlas
Logan Wisnauskas A Maryland ’22 Chrome



Leave a Comment